The polling for Uttarakhand state assembly election took place on February 14, 2022, whereas Uttar Pradesh went to polls in seven phases from February 10 to March 7, 2022. Exit polls predicted BJP’s win in Uttar Pradesh which has 403 constituencies. However, a close battle was between BJP and Congress in the hills of Uttarakhand.

Refuting the exit poll result for Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi Party (SP) leader and former chief minister Akhilesh Yadav hoped to come in power. A total of 632 candidates, including 62 women, were in the fray when it comes to Uttarakhand. The BJP won 52 and Congress secured 11 out of 70 seats in 2017 state election. Yogi Adityanath-led Bharatiya Janata Party had a thumping majority with 297 seats in 2017 legislative assembly election.

The Election Commission began counting votes for both these states from 8 am onwards today. BJP has won Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh with majority of the total seats in the respective states. The festival of Holi is already here for the BJP as their workers, supporters and ministers celebrate the verdict. Take a look at the table below:

 Uttarakhand Election Result 2022, 8:50 pm                  70/70 (Leads/wins)

Political Parties Seats
BJP 48
Congress 18
AAP 00
OTH 04


Uttar Pradesh Election Result 2022, 8:50 pm                   403/403 (Leads/Wins)

Political Parties Seats
BJP 274
SP 124
BSP 01
Congress 02
OTH 02


LIVE Updates:

8:35 am: Counting of postal ballot begins in Gautam Buddh Nagar, Uttar Pradesh

“Counting has started with postal ballots while EVMs will be opened shortly, security forces are strictly monitoring the counting process along with local police and three tier security system,” ANI quoted Suhas LY, DM, Gautam Buddh Nagar, as saying.

8:45 am: Counting of EVMs starts in Gautam Buddh Nagar

9:10 am: UP Minister Sidharth Nath Singh hits out at opposition, says they are blaming EVMs for their defeat

UP cabinet minister Sidharth Nath Singh said, “Administration has taken stringent action against suspicious movements of EVMs but Opposition parties are creating ruckus…they’ve already started blaming EVMs for their defeat in Assembly elections.”

9:42 am: BJP leads in 209 seats in UP

According to postal ballot counting, initial numbers indicate BJP’s win in 209 seats. Some of them include Kairana, Bulandshahr, Ballia Nagar, Bulandshahr, Fatehpur Sikri.

10:25 am: BJP leads majority of the seats Uttarakhand

BJP: 24, Congress: 18, BSP: 2, UJP: 1, Independent: 2

10:28 am: SP Chief Akhilesh Yadav leads in Karhal constituency

Election Commission’s round 1 of counting depicts Akhilesh Yadav’s win in Karhal, followed by BJP’s SP Singh Baghel, who stands at second, BSP’ Kuladip Narayan at third.

11:05 am: Yogi Adityanath ahead in Gorakhpur Urban

CM Yogi Adityanath leads from Gorakhpur Urban constituency with more than 10,000 votes.

11:35 am: Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya trails in Sirathu constituency, Uttar Pradesh

Maurya is trailing as SP’s Pallavi Patel leads with a little margin of more than 350 votes.

11:45 am: Congress candidate Asha Singh stands at fifth from Unnao

Congress fielded Asha Singh, Unnao rape victim’s mother for Unnao constituency. She is at fifth with 172 votes.

12:05 pm: BJP leads in Varanasi North and Varansi Cantonment

BJP’s Ravindra Jaiswal leads in Varanasi North with a margin of 10,153 votes, while the party’s Saurabh Srivastava is ahead with 2,770 votes.

12:57 pm: Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee President Ajay Kumar Lallu trails in Tamkuhi Raj constituency

1:50 pm: BJP MP Hema Malini says “development’ factor worked for their win in UP

“We already knew our govt will form; we have worked for every developmental aspect, which is why the public trust us… nothing can come in front of a bulldozer, as it can finish everything within a minute, be it cycle or anything else,” ANI quoted BJP MP Hema Malini as saying.

2:45 pm: PM Modi fulfilled all promises made to Uttarakhand people, says BJP leader Kailash Vijavargiya

According to ANI, In Dehradun, BJP leader Kailash Vijavargiya said, “We already knew that we’ll form the government as PM Modi fulfilled all the promises he made to the people of Uttarakhand & CM Pushkar Singh Dhami too resolved issues of the people in the last 6 months.”

4:00 pm: BJP candidate Surendra Kushwaha leads Fazilnagar with a margin of more than 21,000 seats