The State Assembly Elections 2022 for the state Manipur were conducted in two phases starting from February 28. The polling for Punjab and Goa was wrapped up in a single phase on February 20 and February 14, respectively. The Election Commissioner announced all the dates and guidelines for the polling process. A model code of conduct with respect to polling day, polling booths, rallies, processions and general conduct was also released.

Update: The Election Commission (EC) declared results on March 10.

The details for the states are as follows:
Punjab, which went to vote on February 14 in one phase, has 117 seats. The previous government in the state was that of the Congress, which won 77 out of 117 seats in the 2017 state assembly elections with Capt. Amarinder Singh at the helm. Charanjit Singh Channi was the Chief Minister. In 2022, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won a clear majority by itself, winning 92/117 seats. Bhagwant Mann is the new Chief Minister.
Goa, which also went to vote on February 14 in a single phase, has 40 seats. The BJP was in power in Goa after winning a 21 seat majority in the state back in 2017. Pramod Sawant was the CM. BJP has come out as the largest party in 2022, winning 20/40 seats. Congress is second with 11.
Manipur, which went to vote in two phases on February 28 and March 5, has 60 seats. BJP was the party in power in the state despite winning only 21 seats as opposed to Congress’ 28. The CM was N Biren Singh. Manipur has seen the BJP win a clear majority, winning 32 total seats at the time this article was written.

The Election Commission started counting the votes from 8 am.

Election results as of 9:00 pm, March 10.                                          (Leads/Wins)

Punjab:                                                                                                 (116/117)

Party No. Of Seats
AAP 92
Congress 18
Akali+ 4
BJP+ 2


Manipur:                                                                              (50/60) (Leads/Wins)

Party No. Of Seats
BJP 32
Congress+ 5


Goa:                                                                                     (37/40) (Leads/wins)

Party No. Of Seats
BJP 20
Congress+ 12
TMC+ 2
AAP+ 3


Check all live updates here:

9:40 am: Close fight between BJP and Congress

AAP taking a huge lead in Punjab. BJP winning by significant margin in Manipur. Very close fight in Goa between BJP and Congress.

10:20 am: Punjab- CM Channi trailing

CM Charanjit Singh Channi is trailing on both his seats in Chamkaur Sahib, Bhadaur

Navjot Singh Sidhu also trailing behind AAP’ Jeevan Jot on his seat in Amritsar East.

11:05 am: Punjab- AAP consolidating a strong lead in the state

AAP leading the way with 89 projected seats. Congress in distant second place with 13 seats. Akali winning 9 and 5 for BJP.

11:36 am: Goa CM Sawant leading

BJP candidate and State CM Pramod Sawant is now leading in Sanquelim. Earlier, Congress candidate Dharmesh Saglani was leading by 446 votes.

11:57 am: Manipur- CM leading in his constituency

Chief Minister N Biren Singh has a comfortable majority of 17,782 votes against his rival P Sharatchandra who is a Congress candidate.

2:29 pm: Goa- Manohar Parrikar’s son loses his seat to BJP candidate in the state.

Utpal Parrikar, the son of former Defence Minister Late Manohar Parrikar has lost to Atanasio Monseratte, a BJP candidate. Monseratte said in an interview that he isn’t satisfied with the margin of the victory.

2:30 pm: Manipur- BJP leading in the state with a considerable majority

BJP has a clear majority in the state so far, leading on at least 15 seats, while having won 5. The NPEP is the second largest party, leading on 5 seats so far.

2:00 pm: Punjab- Sidhu concedes defeat on twitter

Congress candidate Navjot Singh Sidhu conceded defeat on twitter after he lost from his Amritsar East constituency to Jeevan Jot of AAP. His tweet read “The voice of the people is the voice of God …. Humbly accept the mandate of the people of Punjab …. Congratulations to Aap !!!”.

3:23 pm: Manipur- Chief Minister N Biren Singh wins from his constituency.

The incumbent Chief Minister N Biren Singh won his seat in Heingang, beating the rival  P Saratchandra Singh from Congress Party. Independent candidate Nishikant Sapam won the Keishamthing seat.

3:44 pm: Punjab- CM Channi and the Badals lose their constituencies to AAP candidates.

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader Parkash Singh Badal lost his Lambi seat by a margin of 11,357 votes. His son and SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal also lost from the Jalalabad constituency. Later, CM Charanjit Singh Channi also lost from both his seats and was seen congratulating Bhagwant Mann on twitter on being elected the new CM.

3:50 pm: Goa- AAP wins in Benaulim and Velim

Capt. Venzy Viegas from Benaulim and Engr Cruz Silva from Velim both won seats for the AAP.

5:00 pm: Punjab- Punjab AAP Co-incharge Raghav Chadha talks about the party and its aspirations
Raghav Chadha of the AAP spoke to the media about the increasing role of the party in national affairs. He claimed how AAP is the national and natural replacement of the Congress Party. He also mentioned how in his opinion, the era of “traditional” parties such as the SAD and Congress is now over and the people are putting their faith in the AAP to form a clean and honest government.
5:03 pm: Election Commission lifts ban of counting day victory processions
In the five states where elections were held, the ban on the victory and counting day processions has been lifted by the EC. This was done keeping in mind the “current status” of COVID-19.