Election Commission of India
Election Commission of India.

As per the announced schedule for the Assembly Election 2021 by the Indian Election Commission, elections in a total of 824 assembly constituencies of the four states West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam, and the Union Territory of Puducherry will begin on March 27, and the election results will be announced on May 2, 2021. The Model Election Code of Conduct has become effective in the five states for the Assembly elections 2021. A total of 18.68 crore voters can participate in the election. This is the first major election after the Bihar Assembly elections amid the outbreak of the Corona epidemic. 2.7 lakh polling stations have been set up for the assembly elections, and all the election officials will be treated as frontline personnel and they will be given a coronavirus vaccine.

West Bengal Elections details

During the Assembly elections, a total of 294 seats of West Bengal is voted in a total of eight phases starting from March 27 to 29 April. The battle of West Bengal seems to be the most important, where Mamta Banerjee, who has been the Chief Minister for two times, is facing a tough challenge from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Several leaders and strategists considered close and most trusted to Mamata have recently left her Trinamool Congress (TMC) party and joined the BJP, and the trend is not yet over. She herself is accusing BJP of misusing central agencies to intimidate her party leaders. However, TMC’s slogan is ‘Khela Hobe’ (game in progress), while BJP is calling for ‘Poribartan’ (change).

When are the West Bengal assembly elections opinion poll/exit polls?

The West Bengal assembly elections’ opinion polls or exit polls will be on the last day of voting i.e. 29th April 2021.

When is the 2021 West Bengal election result (Vidhan Sabha counting)?

The counting of the West Bengal election result is on 2nd May 2021. Bengal Vidhan sabha elections results for all assembly seats will be declared.