Home |  History | Indian Railways Freight Services | World Heritage Sites in Indian Railways | Luxury Trains in India | Superfast Trains of Indian Railways | The Metro Railways | International Railways

Southern Railway

The Southern Railway of India stretches over the entire Indian Southern Peninsula. The Southern Railway India covers the areas like Pondicherry, Tamilnadu, Kerala and parts of Andhra Pradesh. The Southern Railway (SR) ranges from Mangalore on the western coast and Kanniyakumari in the south to Gudur - North East and Renigunta - North West.

History of Southern Railway

The Southern Railway of India came into being on 14th April 1951. The Southern Railway was formed after merging the South Indian Railway, the Madras and Southern Mahratta Railway and the Mysore state railway.

Divisions of Southern Railway

The Southern Railway has its headquarters in Chennai with six divisions at:

  • Chennai
  • Madurai
  • Tiruchirapalli
  • Trivandrum
  • Palghat
  • Salem

Departments of Southern Railway

These are the following departments of Southern Railway division of Indian Railways:

  • Accounts
  • Commercial
  • Engineering
  • Mechanical
  • Electrical
  • Signal n Tele
  • Operating
  • Medical
  • Safety
  • Personnel
  • Stores
  • Security
  • Construction
  • Public Relations

Main Categories

Indian Railways

History of Indian Railways

Indian Railways Freight Services

World Heritage Sites in Indian Railways

Luxury Trains in India

Superfast Trains of Indian Railways

The Metro Railways

International Railways

Ministry of Railways

Suburban Railways in India

Indian Railway Production Units

How Indian Railway affects the Economy?

Indian Railways Budget

Indian Railway and Tourism

The Research, Design and Standards Organisation (RDSO)