Home |  History | Indian Railways Freight Services | World Heritage Sites in Indian Railways | Luxury Trains in India | Superfast Trains of Indian Railways | The Metro Railways | International Railways

East Central Railway

East Central Railway is one of the 16 railway zones that exists in India. The plans for setting up East Central Railway were made on 16th April, 1996. The inaugration of East Central Railway took place on 8th September, 1996. This railway zone is steadily making its presence felt in the Indian railway scenario.

Geographical jurisdiction

The headquarters of East Central Railway is located in Hajipur in Bihar. From Patna, you need to cover a distance of just 25 kilometers to reach the railway headquarters. The geographical jurisdiction of East Central Railway extends to the following divisions of North Eastern Railway and Eastern Railway:

  • Sonepur (North Eastern Railway)
  • Samastipur (North Eastern Railway)
  • Danapur (Eastern Railway)
  • Mughalsarai (Eastern Railway)

East Central Railway Departments

The various departments that enable East Central Railway to carry out its functions have been highlighted below.

  • Accounts
  • Commercial
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • Audit
  • Store
  • Security
  • Signal & Telecom
  • Medical
  • Administration
  • Mechanical
  • Operating
  • Personnel
  • Vigilance

East Central Railway plays a vital role in the ever-improving, railway transport system in India.

Main Categories

Indian Railways

History of Indian Railways

Indian Railways Freight Services

World Heritage Sites in Indian Railways

Luxury Trains in India

Superfast Trains of Indian Railways

The Metro Railways

International Railways

Ministry of Railways

Suburban Railways in India

Indian Railway Production Units

How Indian Railway affects the Economy?

Indian Railways Budget

Indian Railway and Tourism

The Research, Design and Standards Organisation (RDSO)