Headlines India
Latest Online India News Update Volume-VIII India News
Home » Politics News » Trinamool Congress
Thursday, November 22, 2012 (14:02:37)
Tags : Lok Sabha, Trinamool Congress, No-Confidence Motion

Lok Sabha rejects Trinamool's no-trust motion

 Email Story  Write to the editor  Print Story
New Delhi, Nov 22: The Lok Sabha today rejected the Trinamool Congress's bid to move a no-confidence motion against the government over its policies, including allowing foreign direct investment in multi-brand retail.

Sudeep Bandopadhyay of the Trinamool sought leave of the house to move the no-confidence motion against the government. Speaker Meira Kumar asked members to stand if they supported the motion. Other than the 19 Trinamool MPs, only four Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MPs stood in support.

Any no-confidence motion needs support of at least 50 members to be admitted and moved in the Lok Sabha. (IANS)