Union Territories

Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly

Uttarakhand used to be known as Uttaranchal from 2000 and 2006. It was made the 27th state of the Indian republic in November 9, 2000. Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly is considered as one of the youngest amongst the other Indian assemblies. The assembly sessions are carried out in the Vidhan Sabha Bhawan in Dehradun. The Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly is unicameral in structure with a strength of 70 members. Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly had completed its second term and presently, it is into its third term.

The tenure for the legislative assembly of Uttarakhand is 5 years. The assembly summons the house thrice a year and thus, it has its Budget, Monsoon and Winter sessions. Presently, the governor of the state is Shri B.L.Joshi. The speaker of the house is Shri Harbans Kapoor. Maj. Gen. (Retd.) Bhuvan Chandra Khanduri is the leader of the House and Dr. Harak Singh Rawat is the leader of the opposition. Shri Mahesh Chandra is the Secretary of the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly.

The last assembly election in Uttarakhand was held on 21st February 2007. In the election, the Bharatiya Janata Party won the contest with 34 seats. The party was in need of only one more member to form the government. After much debate, it was declared that the Uttarakhand Kranti Dal along with 3 other independents would support the government. This came as a major blow to the incumbent Indian National Congress Government which could win only 21 seats out of 70. Reverse was the scene in the 2002 Uttarakhand Assembly Election when the INC had won 36 seats and the BJP was left behind with 19 seats.