Union Territories

Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly

The Madhya Pradesh state came into being on 1st November 1956. The tenure of the first Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly was abnormally brief which spanned from 1st November 1956 to 5th March 1957. After the state of Madhya Pradesh was reorganized, the first Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections were held in 1957 and the Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly was formed on 1st April 1957.

The Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly has got a unicameral set up. The Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly tenure is 5 years unless there is any need to dissolve it. The strength of the assembly house was previously limited to 288 members though the strength was revised from time to time to meet out the growing needs of the assembly. The Madhya Pradesh Reorganization Act 2000 led to the bifurcation of the state and led to the formation of Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh on 1st November 2000. Within a period of time, the strength of the Legislative Assembly in Madhya Pradesh was brought down to 231 which also included a nominated member.

The Governor of Madhya Pradesh is Balram Jakhad. The Chief Minister of the state is Shivraj Singh Chouhan. Ishwar Das Lohani is the Speaker and Hajarial Raghuvanshi is the Deputy Speaker. The Leader of Opposition is Smt. Jamuna Devi. The Twelfth Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly was formed on 5th December, 2003. The state is all set for fresh polls in 2008 where it will elect 230 legislators as it has been announced by the Election Commission of India. The dates are yet to be announced.

In the 2003 Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections Uma Bharti’s Bhartiya Janata Party got a clean victory. The BJP won 173 seats in the assembly house. The INC was left far behind who managed to get only 38 seats in the assembly. BSP got 2 seats followed by CPM and NCP with 1 seat each. The state party SP got 7 seats.

In the 1998 Assembly Elections in Madhya Pradesh, INC won the election with 172 seats and BJP had to be satisfied with only 119 seats. In the 1993 elections INC came to power with 174 seats whereas BJP was left behind by 117 seats. In 1990 BJP had been the winner again and again in 1985, INC was victorious. So, BJP and INC have always been winners in Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly. If INC is ruling, we can expect BJP to come to power after the next poll and vice versa. But for the past two years BJP is really showing its influence over the state and it is expecting positive results from the upcoming assembly poll 2008.