Union Territories

Kerala Legislative Assembly

The Kerala Legislative Assembly is the law making body of the state. The assembly is run by 140 elected members plus 1 nominated member representing the Anglo-Indian community. The elected members are representatives of the 140 constituencies within the state of Kerala and are known as Member of Legislative Assembly or M.L.A. The formation of the Legislative Council in Travancore in 1888 marked the formation of the legislative assembly of Kerala.

The Legislative Council of Travancore led to the formation of the Sri Moolam Popular Assembly of Travancore on October 1, 1904. On May 1, 1905, a new regulation was introduced where people could elect assembly members. The strength of the assembly was 100, out of which 77 were elected and 23 were nominated. The tenure was for 1 year. In 1921 the house was given the permission to accommodate 50 members including 28 elected members and nominated ones.

In 1949 Travancore and Cochin were merged and the first Legislative Assembly was formed comprising of 178 members. This legislative assembly served as the common law making body for both the states. The Madras Legislative Assembly had representatives from the Malabar region.

In 1956, Kerala state was formed out of Cochin, Travancore and Malabar. The first general election was conducted in February-March, 1957. The first Kerala Legislative Assembly came into being on March 1, 1957. The number of assembly members comprised of 127 including one nominated member. The Kerala Legislative Assembly is called Niyama Sabha and is located in the New Legislature Complex. It is a 10 storied complex and one of the largest in India.

The members of the Kerala Legislative Assembly are directly elected once in every 5 years. Presently the state is governed by a coalition party LDF. The Chief Minister, Mr. V.S. Achuthanandan is from CPI(M). The opposition party is Congress I led (UDF). The last Assembly Elections in Kerala was held in 2006. The Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) won 98 seats in the Kerala Assembly Elections leaving behind the Indian National Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) with 42 seats only.

The first phase of the Kerala elections was held in April 22, 2006. In the first phase the election process was carried out in 59 constituencies among 140 ones. The second phase began in April 29, 2006 when 66 constituencies in the central part of the state cast their vote. The last phase was on May 3, 2006 where rest of the 15 constituencies voted. The votes were counted on May 11, 2006. Though the UDF led government Ommen Chandy had won the 2001 elections yet we got a very different poll result in last assembly election for Kerala.