Union Territories

Karnataka Legislative Assembly

The Karnataka Legislative Assembly has an interesting history to begin with. The state of Karnataka was initially called the state of Mysore. In March 1881, the Mysore Representative Assembly was formed. On 7th October 1881, the assembly called its first session. In 1891, the state realized a need for an elected body.

In 1894 the representatives were chosen from the Municipalities. In 1919, the Municipalities were given the scope for more representation and the one year term was extended to three years. The assembly term was fixed to three years by the Regulation of 1923.

The Representative Assembly formed in 1881 and the Legislative Council came into being in 1907. The members of the council comprised of the Dewan, the President and the ex-office members. In addition to all of them, the assembly can also have 10-15 nominated members. As per the rules of the assembly, two fifth of the nominated members need to be non- officials. Though the fixed number of Council members was never fixed yet attempt was made to limit the same through regulations and laws from time to time.

In 1914, the Council was granted the power to discuss budget. Under the Constitution, the first assembly was constituted in 1952, comprised of 99 elected members with 1 nominated member. The reorganized state was formed in 1956 and in 1973, the state was renamed Karnataka.

The Karnataka Legislature comprises of two Houses, one of which is the Karnataka Legislative Assembly and the other is the Karnataka Legislative Council. The first sitting of the New Karnataka Legislative Assembly took place on 19th December in Vidhana Soudha. The assembly strength was 208 in 1957 and it was revised to 216 in 1967 and finally to 224 in 1978 with 1 nominated member. The Council houses 75 members out of whom 25 members are elected by the Legislative Assembly members and 25 members are elected by the Local Authorities. Rest are nominated by teachers, graduates and the Governor of Karnataka.

In the 2008 Karnataka assembly elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) created history as they won the state election for the very first time. This came as a major blow to the Congress, which was also defeated in all the 3 Lok Sabha by-elections. The Congress realized that the scenario is the same for them in Lok Sabha seats of Thane, Tura in Meghalaya and Hamirpur in Himachal Pradesh. The BJP which enjoyed power just for a week in November last year before being defeated by the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) could manage 110 seats, which was just 3 seats short of 113, which could have offered them the power of ruling the state. However, this is surely a great leap especially when the poll result of 2004 is taken into account. BJP secured 79 seats in 2004 poll.

The Congress accumulated 80 seats in the 2008 assembly elections in Karnataka as compared to 65 seats in 2004. The JD-S proved big-time losers with their tally falling to 28 from 58 in the 2004 elections. The Independents and the smaller groups managed six seats. The chief ministerial aspirant from BJP - B.S. Yediyurappa expected to form the government with the support of some of the Independents. The 2008 election result indeed proved a milestone for the BJPs in Karnataka which was otherwise dubbed the ‘north India party’.

Even though the JD-S leader cum former chief minister H.D. Kumaraswamy was showered with heavy defeats everywhere, he won with a plenty of sympathy votes from Ramanagaram defeating Mamatha Hegde of Congress. Yediyurappa showered all credits to Arun Jaitley – the party strategist, for the victory of BJP in Karnataka. The BJP had laid a three-fold plan: ‘betrayal, inflation, terrorism’ and that is how it won against Congress which had failed to do much for inflation.

B S Yeddyurappa (BJP) was elected in Shikaripura after defeating S Bangarappa (SP) by 45927 votes. Prakash Hukkeri (INC) was elected in Chikkodi-Sadalga after defeating Ramesh C Jigajinigi (BJP) by 24070 votes. In Padmanabhanagara R Ashoka (BJP) won against Prasadbabu (JDS) by 31276 votes. Malreddy (INC) was the winner in Yadgir against Virabasana Gouda (BJP), beating him by 4583 votes. B Chinchimsor (INC) rose in Gurmitkal defeating Najana Gouda by 9202 votes. KCC President Mallikarjun Kharge (INC) was the king in Chithapur after defeating Valmiki Naik (BJP) by 17,546 votes.

On 25.5.2008, 11:32 am, BJP was winning by 114 and Cong and JD-S were left behind with 67 and 34 respectively. The status remained the same but number of seats changed at 11:44 am when BJP was declared the winner with 110 seats.